Return to Cali

Hi Friends,

The house I grew up in has been turned into a computer training centre

Time didn’t stand still in Cali in the past 25 years. In fact so much has changed that all the places of my youth are pretty much unrecognizable. My old neighbourhood has changed from residential to commercial, so it’s no longer a place where people stroll about in the evening and chat with their neighbours. The house I lived in has been turned into a computer training center, and the only thing that’s the same at my old school is the soccer field and the basketball court. Everything else has been rebuilt.

After the initial shock of the changed house, I was fortunate to find that one of our old next-door neighbours still lives there and remembers our family. Big hugs and quite a few tears were shed as we stood on the street. We were invited in and had a wonderful time getting caught up on each others lives. Given that the row houses were all pretty much identical, I got to show Emilia and Philip Maynard around, using a substitute house. It’s hard to go back and find everything different. Though the pictures that were frozen in time have now been updated, I wonder if the old images that were crystal clear will now get blurred.

My childhood friend Nydia and her family

When we arrived at the airport I had no trouble recognizing my friend Nydia. Emilia and Philip Maynard were expecting to see a 20 year old waiting for us, perhaps because they knew that is the age I was when I last visited Cali. I think Nydia and I have gotten used to the older versions of each other. It’s been great to get to know her husband Diego and 11 year old daughter Maria Juliana.

Given that Nydia’s family is busy with work and school during the day, Emilia, Philip Maynard and I head out to explore the city. A highlight has been our visits to an animal rescue centre. Years ago a woman who loves animals started taking in homeless dogs and cats. Over time, her efforts grew into the Paraiso de la Mascota (Pet’s Paradise), a shelter that houses about 450 rescued dogs and cats and a few horses.

Dog Heaven - cuddling Canelita!

The human climbing tree!

When we arrived, the din of 300 barking dogs was almost deafening. I asked one of the staff about how the neighbours respond to all the noise. There are lots of complaints, he said, but they reached a compromise; no visitors on Sundays, which reduces the amount of barking. Most of the dogs settled down once we went into one of the enclosures, though. With these four legged “kids” bounding up to us and begging to be played with, Emilia, Philip-Maynard and I settled into an afternoon of dog and cat heaven.

Large groups of dogs generally get on well together

At one point, a fight broke out between two dogs just as I stepped into an enclosure. In the confusion, one of the fighting dogs sunk his teeth into my leg. When I showed the somewhat nasty gash to one of the staff, his response was, “Hmm… that’s unusual, people go into those enclosures regularly and the dogs don’t bite them.”

While I wasn’t too worried, since all the dogs were vaccinated against rabies, I was struck by how casual his response was. Given that there was still a risk of an infection, we carefully cleaned off the wound and I relocated to an area where the dogs weren’t fighting.

A couple of days have passed, and I’m relieved that the bite is healing well. Our only real concern now is how we’re going to get back to Canada without one very cute little brown dog named Canelita (Little Cinnamon) that Emilia has fallen in love with!

As our month in Colombia wraps up, I think about the complexity and many layers in this country. During a taxi ride here in Cali, we observed to the driver that very few people use seat belts, even though they’re mandatory. Well, this hit a nerve.  “The government doesn’t give a damn if I live or die,” he said. “The only reason for seat belt laws is to line the pockets of government officials”. The driver then reiterated what I’ve heard over and over since arriving here. The Colombian government is one of the most corrupt in Latin America.

We came across an example of this in our travels. A woman in one of the hostels we were staying at was riding in a taxi that was in a head-on collision with a drunk driver. When she saw the other car speeding towards them, our friend threw herself behind the seat for protection. Both she and the driver escaped with minor injuries.

Later, lying on a stretcher in Emergency with a broken nose and many bruises, a police officer came by. He started out trying to flirt with her. When that failed, he got really close to her face and quietly said, “you know, the family of the driver will come to talk to you. They’ll want to make things right.” Our friend had learned that the drunk driver came from a well-known family. After repeating this ominous statement a couple of times, the police officer left.

The next day, our friend went to the police station to get a copy of the accident report for her insurance company. The police told her that unfortunately all the records from the accident had been lost. As she told us these details, she said it made her nervous to know that the police had already been paid off, and that she could be entangled with a powerful family that would do whatever it took to get their son off.

When I told this story to our taxi driver, he said “she’s lucky to be alive”. I asked if he meant because of the accident, and he said “No, she’s lucky that the family didn’t have her killed.”

Although this seems extreme, this wasn’t the first time we’ve heard this kind of thing. I’ve been told that over the years, people from all walks of life, including judges, lawyers, union leaders, and politicians have been murdered or “disappeared” after publicly challenging corruption, or working to bring about change.

Our driver repeated a number of times that if the police or military knew that he talked openly about this, his life would be in danger. It felt like the flood gates had opened for him as he spoke out with so much emotion. As our ride came to an end, he gave me a list of books that I could read if I want to learn more.

Today, I went searching for the books, and was told, “Oh… we had those books briefly but they were banned by the government. We’re not allowed to sell them here. If you want them, you have to get them on street.”

Life is difficult for a majority of Colombians, while at the same time, others live very well. Peace is tenuous, and yet,  amidst all of the challenges, we’ve experienced warmth and generosity everywhere we’ve gone. It hasn’t always been easy for me, but it was good to come back.

Today we say goodbye to Colombia and move on to Ecuador.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Return to Cali

  1. rochelle says:

    hi trio,
    I am really enjoying reading about your adventures and hearing about the underlying political issues you are encountering. Fascinating…please keep blogging. Lots of luck on the next leg of your journey. love raqi

  2. Brook Gies says:

    As you guys can imagine I love the photos of all the cats!
    It warms my heart to known that even way over there people are taking care of our feline friends. I am sure they all enjoyed your company!

    • Hi Brook,

      We thought of you often when were playing with the cats. You would love the set up they have at the rescue centre. Someone put a lot of thought into the cat habitat. Even a few beautiful orchids to make it more homey!
      Please pass on our love to Stella.

  3. gareth says:

    Powerfully written, Rebekah. I felt like I was right in the cab with you. I felt moved by the political insights told through average people’s personal stories. Thanks. Love, Gareth

  4. Viviana Angus says:

    que historias! no me quedo en claro cuanto tiempo pasaron en Cali. al final de tu msje. mencionas que parten a Ecuador.
    me reservo Cali para cuando los encuentre de nuevo.
    me interesa muchisimo comprender esa naturalizacion de tanta ilegalidad.
    que sigan disfrutando, un gran abrazo.

  5. Noni says:

    What a privilege it is for me to be experiencing your trip through your blog posts. They are so evocative of the country, the political realities, your family, and your personal history. How amazing to be able to “go back” and share your insights and feelings in this way. Thanks for keeping up these blogs, Rebekah
    Noni

    • Hi Noni,

      Thanks for your note. We were thinking of you in Cali when we found Noni bread in the store. Noni is a fruit that grows here, apparently originally from somewhere in Asia. I had never heard of it. We actually took a picture of the Noni bread package to show you!

      Take care!

  6. Francesca Gorlick says:

    Wow Rebekah, that is a powerful story. Human beings are amazing in so many ways (good and not so good). It’s a good reminder of the freedom and peace we enjoy here in Canada (especially in the midst of an election campaign). Please say “Hi” to Emilia and Philip-Maynard.

  7. Fiona says:

    Hi Rebekah, Emelia and Phillip – Maynard,

    Tonight I finally sat down and read about your wonderful journey. What an amazing way to see the world! Your stories remind me so much of my travels when I went back to see the house I grew up in and it was SOOOO small. Thank you for your accounts – you are right here in my house with me! In Vancouver it has been raining , raining and I have never known the ground to be quite so squishy. Maybe soon it’ll be a mud bath like the one you were in!! All is well here. I have a squirrel called Delilah who has moved into the attic. The bees are also well. I have been feeding them sugar water with camomile tea. Because it is still so cold the tree blossoms are just starting. I saw the queen on a warm day when I opened them and she was definitely most queenlike – big with all her attendants around her. Camil has been working hard on the grass outside my house. They have spread manure, have rototilled and soon will be making beds and planting. It’ll look different when you come back. I ran past your house the other day and found a hammer and a screwdriver on the sidewalk!! I think people probably thought I was quite funny running home with a hammer in one hand and a screwdriver in the other. So a big hug to you all, safe journeys and I look forward to the next installment! Fiona

  8. Marketa says:

    Dear Rebekah, Emilia and Philip-Maynard, what an amazing adventure you are having.
    Rebekah – I can imagine how complex it must be to visit your childhood place and find it so changed! That’s great that you are meeting so many generous and friendly people who “help” you to understand the changes.
    I have to show Judy and Maddie the doggy and cat’s heaven – I can already hear their “Ohh, so cutes!” screams. Which one is Cannelita?
    I am glad Rebekah the bite is healing well – scary.
    Hugs and kisses – it was very nice to see you the other day on Skype.

    Marketa

  9. Sokol-Snyders says:

    Hey Trio, we are just catching up with your blog as we download the pictures and stories from our adventures. Rebekah, we went by MY old house in Kathmandu and it was under construction to become apartments. The huge stands of bamboo that used to be the home of crows (at night) and bats (during the day) are long gone, as are the fields across the street. Philip-Maynard and Emilia, we had huge debates over whether to bring back a) a Tibetan mastiff puppy, b) a baby goat, or c) a baby elephant. In the end, we came back to fat cats. Hugs to you all, and happy adventures!

    • So glad to hear that you guys are home safe and sound. It’s sad to hear about all the bamboo stands that are gone. I wonder if the crows and bats still come back to roost near by. I can’t wait to hear all your stories when we get back.

      Hugs to all of your troop!

  10. The stories and reflections are great. They are great reminders of the what life is like in the communities you visit. Thanks for letting us into your life and the life of South America.
    Peter

  11. Anne Fraser says:

    Hi Rebekah, Emilia and Philip-Maynard:

    Rebekah, have you considered a job as a professional writer? It’s deeply moving to read your impressions and thoughts. I hope your bite has completely healed. Let’s hope we never go back to Montague Provincial Park and find a computer store! I’m looking forward to spending time with you all in our familiar spot after your journey.

    Love,

    Anne

  12. Naomi says:

    Thanks so much for all your work on these blogs. It is so much fun to read and hear imagine what it would be like to be there with you guys! A someone else mentioned… you would make an amazing travel writer… now you have this blog to use as a portfolio : ) Big hugs. Naomi

Leave a comment